Gloomy Monday/ lentil soup recipe

Today was a cold autumn day, so I needed a warm meal to enjoy while I cozily watched the telly

Today was a cold autumn day, so I needed a warm meal to enjoy while I cozily watched the telly

I love mixing my lentils, it looks like jewels to me. I have green, brown and yellow in there.

I love mixing my lentils, it looks like jewels to me. I have green, brown and yellow in there.

You'll also need 3 carrots, 2 potatoes, 1 brown onion, a red bell pepper and half a green one

You’ll also need 3 carrots, 2 potatoes, 1 brown onion, a red bell pepper and half a green one

Add 2 and a half cups of the mixed lentils

Add 2 and a half cups of the mixed lentils

Dice all the vegetables and set aside

Dice all the vegetables and set aside

Add 2 cups of frozen corn, it can be either sweet or regular corn. Also add 2 cups of frozen peas

Add 2 cups of frozen corn, it can be either sweet or regular corn. Also add 2 cups of frozen peas

Also add the diced vegetables to the pot, then add a litre of boiling water

Also add the diced vegetables to the pot, then add a litre of boiling water

Add 2 dried red chillies

Add 2 dried red chillies

Add the salt once the lentils become tender but not yet mushy

Add the salt once the lentils become tender but not yet mushy

Add 3 teaspoons of curry paste, if the soup becomes thick add more water

Add 3 teaspoons of curry paste, if the soup becomes thick add more water

After an hour the yellow lentils should have disintegrated

After an hour the yellow lentils should have disintegrated

It’s Autumn here in South Africa and as the days get chillier and the boots and scarves come out to play, I fall madly in love with the weather, you see what I love about cold weather is the effort and creativity put into trying to get warm, shivering and over exaggerating about how cold you are… Anyway I decided to make my favourite easy peasy soup. If you make it yourself please let me know if you enjoyed it, I love the smell of this soup. I decided to enjoy my soup in bed with an old book of mine that I just refuse to finish, only because I keep rereading chapters. Well on that note enjoy you Monday wherever you are

Peace, love and prosperity

Dark Angel by Sally Beauman, a very intriguing read

Dark Angel by Sally Beauman, a very intriguing read

Leave a Reply

