Homemade Gherkins

Image

I’m a gherkin loving fool, honestly I am….. So when I saw these mini cucumbers at our local Woolworths, I knew it was time to learn how to pickle my own cucumbers. Don’t worry you can pickle regular sized cucumbers just as easily as mini cucumbers.

IMG-20140528-01813

Before we begin let me start by saying, you can make refrigerator gherkins or processed gherkins.. Processed gherkins are the one’s you buy at the store, they placed in boiling water for 5 minutes, the downside is that the cucumbers will be slightly cooked. Whereas the refrigerator gherkins have a shelf life of a couple of weeks instead of a year.

I didn’t use dills. I used what I had and I had onions, mustard seeds and dried chillies oh and of course vinegar and salt, anyway here’s what I did.

You’ll need:

0.5 large onion
1 teaspoon mustard seeds
1 dried chilli pepper
1 large pot
1 medium sized pot
Glass jar with lid
2 tablespoons of Kosher salt
1 cup vinegar (White or Apple Cider)
1 cup water

First thing I chopped up my onion

Image

  • Secondly I chopped one dried chilli
  • Then I added the mustard seed to the onions and chillies

Image

  • Thirdly I added a litre of boiling water to a large pot with my glass jar (to sterilise the jar) and brought to a boil

Image

  • I then washed and dried my cucumbers
  • Cut off the stems, the stems contain enzymes that can make your gherkins limp

Image

  • Next I brought the vinegar, water and salt to a boil

Image

  • Add your onion and spices to the jar and then tightly pack in your cucumbers
  • Once the salt has dissolved, let the brine cool and then pour over your vegetables (well technically fruit)
  • Gently tap the jar on your countertop to release air bubbles
  • If you want to make refrigerator pickles just tighten the lid and leave for  at least 48 hours (The longer you leave them, the more flavourful they’ll be)
  • For a longer shelf life then process the gherkins, by placing the jar in a pot of boiling water, when the water comes to a boil again, wait 5 minutes then remove Image
  • Let the gherkins cool at room temperature, leave for at least 48 hours or longer before opening. processed gherkins will last about a year on the shelf and several weeks once opened
  • Refrigerated after opening

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

