Sunday Thoughts And A Recipe 29/3/2015

2015 has been a really challenging year for me thus far, it’s forced me to confront truths I’ve hidden away from for so long, being by myself with no one to keep me company apart from my thoughts has helped (more like forced) me to accept my flaws, ponder upon past mistakes and view my future realistically.

I’ve learnt that I haven’t been the greatest friend, daughter or sister. I hope to change that this year, to be more present, in touch and caring. I’ve started journaling and exercising, it’s been pretty therapeutic I now know where I lack and hopefully these bad traits won’t stand in the way of my future relationships.

To being a better friend and confidant here’s a recipe to share with a friend over while sharing secrets or giving advice, this Sundays recipe is the perfect gift, also a delicious warming drink for the cooler nights to come.

    Masala Chai:
    Ingredients:

* 12 cardamom pods
* 1tsp whole black pepper corns
* 1tbspn fennel seeds/6 star anise
* 1tsp cloves
* 1tsp ground coriander
* 1tsp cumin (optional)
* 1 cinnamon stick
* 2tsp ground cinnamon
* 1tsp ground black pepper
* 3tsp ground ginger
* 1/2 cup loose tea (any tea of your choosing)

* 1tsp ground nutmeg (optional)

    Instructions:
Poke holes in the cardamom pods

Poke holes in the cardamom pods

Toast all the whole spices

Toast all the whole spices for about 6-8 minutes or till fragrant

Grind the spices

Grind the spices

Add loose tea leaves, followed by the freshly ground spices and then the ground spices

Add loose tea leaves, followed by the freshly ground spices and then the ground spices

Cover and shake your jar, to mix the contents together

Cover and shake your jar, to mix the contents together

    Directions for use:

* 1 cup water
* 1/2 cup milk (to me coconut milk turns this tea recipe to a dessert)
* 1tbsp tea mixture
* Sweetener to taste

Bring the water to a boil, add the tea, lower heat and let simmer for 5 minutes. Add sweetener and milk and let simmer for another 5 minutes. Strain and enjoy hot or cold!

Leave a Reply

